Board of Education

The role of the Board of Education is to oversee operations of the school district on behalf of the community under the guidance of the State Board of Education. BOE trustees create policies which define how the district is to be operated. The BOE trustees are also responsible for hiring a Superintendent to operate the district per these policies.

Board of Education trustees are members of the community and are elected into office by their peers by holding public elections each November. Trustees serve a four year term. Terms are staggered by holding elections for two seats every year, with the exception of a single seat election every four years. Any vacant seats may be filled by appointing a community member to serve a maximum of one year, or until an election can be held.

All community members 18 years of age or older, a resident of the community for longer than one year, and have a desire to serve their community are encouraged to run for the seat of Board of Education trustee.


The annual school election will be held Tuesday, November 3, 2020. There will be three (3) seats on the ballot. All three (3) seats are 4 year terms, January 1, 2021 – December 31, 2024. The incumbents are: Pamela Dickinson, Karen Howes, and Paul Lamphear.

If you are interested in running for a board seat, you must obtain a petition from the Comstock Township Offices located at 6138 King Highway, Comstock, or pay a $100 nonrefundable filing fee. The petitions are available anytime, and are due in the township office no later than 4:00 p.m. on Tuesday, July 21, 2020.

For more information on how to become a board member, please call Comstock Township Clerk, Michelle Moheny, at 381-2360.


 

Learn more about the role of a school board.

Pamela Dickinson, 
President 

2nd Term (2020)
DickinsonP@comstockps.org

Shirley Amos, 
Vice President

3rd Term (2022)
AmosS@comstockps.org

Karen Howes, 
Treasurer

2ndTerm (2022)
HowesK@comstockps.org

Dorinda Scholly, 
Secretary

1st Term (2022)
SchollyD@comstockps.org

Saralyn Brown,
Trustee

1st Term (2022)
BrownS@comstockps.org

Paul Lamphear, 
Trustee, appointed

1st Term (2020)
LamphearP@comstockps.org

Matthew Schreiner,
Trustee

2nd Term (2022)
SchreinerM@comstockps.org

Faye Goldner,
Recording Secretary*

(Appointed)
GoldnerF@comstockps.org

*Faye Goldner also serves as the Executive Assistant to the Superintendent of Comstock Public Schools