Board of Education

2024 CPS Board of Education

The role of the Board of Education is to oversee operations of the school district on behalf of the community under the guidance of the State Board of Education. BOE trustees create policies which define how the district is to be operated. The BOE trustees are also responsible for hiring a Superintendent to operate the district per these policies.

Board of Education trustees are members of the community and are elected into office by their peers by holding public elections each November. Trustees serve a four year term. Terms are staggered by holding elections for two seats every year, with the exception of a single seat election every four years. Any vacant seats may be filled by appointing a community member to serve a maximum of one year, or until an election can be held.

All community members 18 years of age or older, a resident of the community for longer than one year, and have a desire to serve their community are encouraged to run for the seat of Board of Education trustee.

Learn more about the role of a school board.

Pamela Dickinson, 

3rd Term (2024)
[email protected]

Matthew Schreiner, 
Vice President
3rd Term (2026)
[email protected]
Paul Lamphear, 
1st Term (2024)
[email protected]

Saralyn Brown,
2nd Term (2026)
[email protected]

Dr. Richard Hathaway 

1st Term (2026)
[email protected]

Kren Howes, 

3rdTerm (2024)
[email protected]

Kristie Poulson, 

1st Term (2024 - appointed)
[email protected]

Megan Amsbury,
Recording Secretary*

[email protected]

*Megan Amsbury also serves as the Executive Assistant to the Superintendent of Comstock Public Schools